Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice scratchers

Default Ice scratchers

I was just wondering when "you" acutually use ice scratchers if at all?

A must where I live. I have had them on every liquid machine I've owned: 1996 Ultra SPX, 1999 XCR-800, 2000 XCR-800. They'll keep you going when others have to stop.

Work best on very hard-packed to hard-packed trails. I tried them on the skis, didn't work well. Try to get them as far forward as possible on the slide-rails.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

We use ice scratchers for running the Denali Highway when it gets hard packed. You will overheat the liquid cooled machines, and as far as air cooled machines, without them you can burn your slide rails up if you don't keep some snow/ice going on them. Most of the time, the highway is not too bad, but if it's a long time between snows, it can be tough on the machine.
    Experience Real Alaska! www.alpinecreeklodge.com

I had both ski and rail scratchers on my last sled and will be doing the same on any future machines. Does anyone know where to get or have a link to who makes the ones out of stiff cable? A few friends have new RMK pro's and the factory scratchers came apart on the first couple rides so the need new ones. I know the cable type are reverse friendly which is a huge bonus!

The cable ones are not as effective. Great when you forget they are down and back up but do not scratch as well.

Quote Originally Posted by LuJon View Post