Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Level wind or open top for salmon trolling?

Default Level wind or open top for salmon trolling?

So I'm looking for a new reel for salmon trolling next summer. Thinking about a Daiwa Saltist, but curious about the Avet SX or MX. Do any of you have opinions (Hah! Here they come!) about the utility of level-wind vs. open top reels for trolling for silvers and kings, with some time casting from the boat or from shore? The Avet appeals because of the cast control they offer, I'm not too experienced casting the casting reels, and thought the magnetic control could reduce birds nests. All advice is welcome.

I've always used level winds for salmon fishing/trolling.
    I mostly see the non-level wind reels used for blue water trolling large marine fishes.
    I have seen salmon charge the boat many times and being able to reel like mad and not having to worry about using your thumb to lay the line on the reel is a big plus. IMHO

Quote Originally Posted by Boreal View Post
    Thinking about a Daiwa Saltist, but curious about the Avet SX or MX.
    I have both Saltists and Avets. Over the last couple of years the Avets have all moved on to halibut rods and Saltists are on all the salmon rods plus a couple of halibut rods. As the Avets give up the ghost I might well replace them with Saltists too.

Open tops are fine for experienced anglers, but not everyone that fishes on my boat is experienced. Mix in big fish now and then with inexperienced anglers, and it can get a little too crazy for my blood. I really like the fast retrieve along with the levelwind on the Saltists when big salmon make a run at the boat and all heck is breaking loose. I've only got a couple of years on the Saltists, but even on the halibut rods they appear to be holding up better than the Avets. Time will tell, and I'll certainly put a few more years on the Saltists before making up my mind to dump the Avets.