Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: When do the bears wake up?

Default When do the bears wake up?

hello all. i am new to alaska. work kept me from tracking down a black bear in GMU7 this year, so i am gearing up for next year. when do the bears generally start movin around again? thanks for the help!

My bait didn't get hit until the second week of May last year.

When it warms up enough to make the roof of my house drip, Bears will be comming out near anyday, 'round here........seems to be right so far, Ive found many a Brown Bear just poking outta their den on those days in early mid April......
    If you can't Kill it with a 30-06, you should Hide.

"Dam it all", The Beaver told me.....

thank you very much. i realize its a pretty dumb question. i cant wait to get out there next year!!!

No dumb questions, and vital to planning, as well as good knowlage for the Hunter.

Its all good.
    If you can't Kill it with a 30-06, you should Hide.

"Dam it all", The Beaver told me.....

My guess is it varies depending on the area, but I have seen brownies coming out of their den around tax day (april 15), and the blacks usually come a few weeks later. Although I have heard of guys shooting and seeing them out earlier than that.

I always figured April 20 with a week or so in either direction. seems to work

My experience in GMU 7 is last two weeks of May.
    Finally, Brad Childress is GONE!

Quote Originally Posted by MNViking View Post
    My experience in GMU 7 is last two weeks of May.