Thread: Outfitter for Fall Brown Bears on the Pen

Default Outfitter for Fall Brown Bears on the Pen

As a newbie, I just want to start by saying that this is an impressive website with a lot of good info.

I have been doing research for a fall brown bear hunt on the Peninsula. A big bear of 9.5 feet or better is desired.
    I have talked to the Pen biologist, looked over B&C records and done some other misc research. 9E and 9D look to be the top choices unit-wise. Some of the outfitters whoes names keep popping up are Tracy Vrem, Rod Schuh and Joe Klutsch. I also see that Henry Tiffany has brown bear hunts in 9E but I haven't heard much on his bear hunts just his sheep hunts.

I would appreciate any info regarding these outfitters, or others for that matter. If you'd rather pm, versus posting on a public forum, feel free to go that route.

Thanks in advance for the info.

Rich/Richard Guthrie- Cold Bay
    AAA Alaskan Outfitters- Brent Jones- Pilot Pt
    Mel Gillis- Port Moller
    Aleutian Island Guide Svc- Tim Booch- boat based
    Deltana- Ralph Miller- Sand Pt (forum sponsor)
    Litzen Guide Svc- Sand Pt
    Klutsch- King Salmon
    Canoe Bay Outfitters- Sand Pt
    R&R- Cold Bay
    ....'bout 50 other good uns for finding 9 1/2 footers....

Thanks for the info. In a nutshell, I am looking for an outfitter that has a track record of killing large bears on a regular basis. To make the list smaller, let's say a 10 foot bear instead of a 9.5 footer.

Season is not open till Fall 2013, just in case ya didn't know. Spring 2012 will be open. Good luck, awesome hunt in fall. Spring hunt is tempting me for next time.

Dave Leonard of Mountain Monarchs of Alaska, Killed my sheep with him, Great outfitter, Has a BBear camp down by Cold Bay. BIG BEARS!! When I can afford to do it, it will be with him.

Quote Originally Posted by Moose62 View Post