Thread: Best time to buy a bow?

Default Best time to buy a bow?

This very well might be a silly question, but is there a better time of year than others to get a good deal on a new bow? I am already familiar with Fletchers and will likely give them my business, but I don't know if bows come in "model years" like other products that tend to go in price cycles depending on the time of year. Are there good times to get clearance prices on a bow, or is this not an issue? I've been shooting the same Hoyt for 10 years, and while it's still a fine bow I have been working extra hours this year to save up for a new one. I'm to the point where I can justify the investment, so I'm about to go shopping...unless someone can convince me otherwise. Thanks!

-Brian

Did you get it already?

Default Brian

I don't know of anyone up here that does sales. Maybe Sportsman Warehouse. Fletchers will probably be a bit higher priced that SW but I have done business there with the previous owner and I like quality work. The previous owner had my bow tuned in 10 minutes and with only 2 bare shafts fired. Excellent job!

You can shop the big stores and become a number or a smaller place that knows you and is willing to do more to keep you as a customer. If a bad word gets out and SW looses 3% of their archery customers they may not be hurt. If a small guy looses 3% it is a much bigger deal. I like personal service.

I don't know if anyone will be at the sportsman show. I usually find they jack the prices up and try to make you believe it is a deal. Shop around and take your time. Unless your going to try for black bear with the bow. Then you only have a couple weeks to practice. That may not be enough. When I switched from an older bow to a new BowTech I found I had a learning cure that took 2 months.

Good luck and buy a Bowech!

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012