Thread: Draw hunt question...

Default Draw hunt question...

This is my first year attempting the draw process here in AK and had a question someone may be able to answer for me. I figured a good way to increase my chances were to see the results from last year and the ones with higher % go for those.. What I found was that some of them with higher % especially for antlerless moose in 20 were not available this year. So my question would be, does the draw areas change year to year for certain hunts? Thanks for any info.

Quote Originally Posted by ga2akwild View Post
    This is my first year attempting the draw process here in AK and had a question someone may be able to answer for me. I figured a good way to increase my chances were to see the results from last year and the ones with higher % go for those.. What I found was that some of them with higher % especially for antlerless moose in 20 were not available this year. So my question would be, does the draw areas change year to year for certain hunts? Thanks for any info.
    YES,, special draws are used to help as a management tool. The cow hunts should be on a down swing as they have been going strong for a few years and there has been a noticeable reduction in the amount of moose versus vehicle accidents in the Fairbanks area.
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

Yes, they change from year to year. If you look through the draw hunt supplement, you will see some hunts listed as "(NEW)" while others that were there last year won't be listed at all as you noticed. Also, some hunts from last year may be split up into multiple "new" hunts for whatever reason (more focused management goals for one part of a unit over another, etc...).