Thread: Robbed on the line..

Default Robbed on the line..

Well i went out today to check my first ever line (5 snares) to see if i had anything. Well i checked the first 3 and "as expected" i had absolutely nothing. This is my first time ever trying to trap, so my anticipation is high but my expectations aren't. I found a moose that was dead last weekend and had been dead for at-least a week or so and set 2 snares around it. Well as i approached it i saw my first snare was still there sitting pretty but i couldn't see the other one at all. As i inspected the area i could see where someone had walked down to exactly where i had set the snare and the tree i had attached it to was broken at the point where i had attached it. There was a nice mowed down area where i had somehitng, but with all the moose hair and lack of snow i couldn't tell what i had. So success on my first ever check for someone else... Kinda has to piss you off when you are so excited just to see that kind of evidence left behind.... Maybe next time i guess.

David

Maybe you had their dog.

Always a possibility.. I would like to think not, but it's definately a chance..

These type of reports, are kind of hard to relate too, if I have zero idea what part of the planet it happen. I'll guess your in Sibera or in the Brooks Range. Sorry for your loss.

A domestic dog is used to being on a leash or chain. They rarely fight a snare. Don't mow down the area. Only wild animals do that.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

Supporting Member

Please report the theft to the F&W enforcement troopers (nearest post to wherever you live). They may not be able to catch the individual this time, but it establishes a problem area and documents an area where theft is occurring. If the problem continues, they will do what they can to catch the culprit(s), despite being spread pretty thinly over a large patrol area.