Thread: hydrogen peroxide on frozen blood

Default hydrogen peroxide on frozen blood

Got a call to track a fox for a girl that marginally shot one I won't be there till 3 or so and I was wondering if peroxide would bubble up on blood when its frozen?. She said it bled a lot for a while then quit she doesn't know anything about hunting and isn't a good shot so I a little concernedI'm the one people call around here with stuff like that but I have never tracked a fox and I always heard they don't bleed even when shot in the chest and with all the ice on top of the snow it might be a bit difficult . She shot at it at 70 yards with a 22 and I told her to aim the cross hair width above it figuring a Hugh shot is better than a low one but now of course I'm second guessing mg self cause she was Truman talk on the phone to me and I'm a bad teacher plus she was excited any advice would be great! Thanks
    Eccleasties 8:11 Because the sentence against an evil deed is not executed quickly, There for the hearts of the sons of men among them are given fully to do evil.

I imagine when you spray it that it will thaw and it should bubble. But I wouldn't think you'd need the peroxide, should be able to see even the smallest speck of blood on the snow. I shot a fox up on the slope with my bow and had to trail it for a little ways in the snow. The smallest specks were easy to see and I was able to get a follow up shot on him.

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

I doubt peroxide would help much if at all. Best bet is to take it slow and follow the bloodtrail as far as you can. If you lose the blood trail, start making ever widening circles from the last spot of blood, and look for additional sign. Good luck, and let us know how it goes.

It'll freeze up right away. Won't help a bit.