Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Neck trimming

Default Neck trimming

Back again .... Well, I found that if I fireform the 338 WSM brass it drops right in the chamber after resizing UNTIL I put a bullet in the case ... It would appear that I will be forced to shave / trim the necks which I've never done before - I understand that is won't hurt in the accuracy dept. but again, I've never done it before - I could REALLY use some guidance on which trimming tool set-up to get and any wisdom that anyone might offer me re: technique ...

Back country, Try and google neck trimming cases. I am sure somebody will have a good explanation and pictures. It is simple, just like reloading but there are several steps involved. after the case is sized and trimmed to length you will probably need to expand the case neck some and then set the trimmer turn the case to remove some but not all brass all the way around and how far down you need to go. I have a Sinclair. It is hand operated. Works ok for the number I do, if you need quite a few look hard into getting one that is power driven.

Trimming is pretty easy and in my opinion essental to accuracy and proper seating. You can get a hand trimmer at Sportsmans for under a 100 bucks and a chamfer tool for about 15. Check youtube for a video.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by back country View Post
    Back again .... Well, I found that if I fireform the 338 WSM brass it drops right in the chamber after resizing UNTIL I put a bullet in the case ... It would appear that I will be forced to shave / trim the necks which I've never done before - I understand that is won't hurt in the accuracy dept. but again, I've never done it before - I could REALLY use some guidance on which trimming tool set-up to get and any wisdom that anyone might offer me re: technique ...
    Are your necks too thick or too long?

Are you talkin about "Neck Trimming" (shortening the case length)?