Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any 375 Winchester shooters out there?

Default Any 375 Winchester shooters out there?

Still getting the itch to send my model 94 30-30 off to JES reboaring to get the 375 Winchester treatment.

I was comparing the energy produced by a 375 as compared to a 35 Remington and the figures were more significant on all the reloading manuals. I see that Barnes still makes a 255 grain original so I thought this would make a great little hiking rifle considering I've been shooting it since I was 8 yrs. old. From what I understand, the newer model 94 can handle moderately stout loads and the factory winchester loads without any safety issues.

Anybody shoot any game animals with a 375 winchester? A 375 Winchester (from a rifle) has more energy than a 44 magnum pistol up close, and better retained energy at 100 yds., so that I why I'm interested.

Neat cartridge! My cousin has one and my aunt carried it for years! It has accounted for quite a few moose. Biggest downfall seems to be finding ammo for it. Definitely a round for the reloader as opposed to the box of bullets every couple years crowd.

Yes, I thought so too. I'm gravitating towards eliminating all big game rifles that are 30 caliber or smaller in my possession(just my personal preference). It isn't a problem if I hunt back home either as the black bear in Northern ME are much larger (in general) than black bear up here. Likewise, the Whitetail deer are big bodied examples generally weighing far beyond 235 lbs for the big mature ones. The small weak ones die off with the 5-6 ft. of snow fall where I'm from, they get eaten by the coyote packs.

I have been thinking that a take-down Savage M24 o/u combo gun with a 375Win barrel over a 20 or 12 gauge would be a good plane-gun.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Quote Originally Posted by mainer_in_ak View Post