Thread: Moving to Anchorage

Default Moving to Anchorage

Hello my fellow waterfowlers. I am in the military, and got orders to Elemdorf AFB. I am a huge waterfowl hunter, I have been hunting the Platte River here in Nebraska for many years. I plan on becoming a resident as soon as I arrive in Feburary. I have many questions, and would love any advice you will be willing to lend. Is most of the waterfowl huning on private lands (hunting leases), or public? Can you use motorized spinners (mojo's)? Is there a waiting period on become a resident with resident licens? Most of my goose hunting I do down here is with full body decoys out of fields, is most of the goose hunting done over water, where you only need floaters, or should I bring most of my full bodies? I have a ton more questions than this if anyone is willing to give me a phone number, and could answer anymore it would be great. Thanks for all the help can't wait to come to Alaska!

You could also spend a few minutes and search for your answers on this forum since most of your questions have been asked many times before, or look back over the last few years and enjoy all the information already posted up. This forum has more info than you might care to read about. I've posted up some good info over the years so start by searching my posts in this forum this last year.

Alaska is nothing like hunting in the states. Private land around anchorage is someone's driveway or back yard. Geese are taken incidentally to ducks. The few fields around here grow hay for milk cows and dog team bedding. Geese don't eat that so there aren't many geese. A dozen geese decoys might be useful one or two days of the season. Once you get to JBER go to the runway command area and check out the monument to the 29 fallen airmen and you will soon learn why there are not a lot of geese around Anchorage anymore and why there is no plan to let them increase their population again.