Thread: Gear buying frustrations

Default Gear buying frustrations

Ok Ive been researching for three months trying to figure out what pants and jacket I want to buy mainly for sheep and goat hunting. Ive read everything on this site and several others but still cant seem to make up my mind. I know its been beat to death on here and several other sites but I need some help. Im looking for an all around jacket and pants. Features Im looking for in order of importance are;Waterproof but not raingear, Breathable, and strechable so I can move. Am I just asking for to much out of one jacket and pant? I just want a outer layer that I dont have to worry about changing everytime the weather does.

I was pretty much set on something from Sitka and thought i just needed to narrow down what paticular pieces I wanted. Then I read on here about KUIU and now I really cant decide. Will the Attack Jacket and pants work or do I need the Chugach? The only thing I really dont like with KUIU is the camo pattern but its not a big factor. Sorry for the long rant Im just frustrated.

I have just about tried it all. Go with KUIU, they have it in non camo colors and should be restocking soon. They get their fabric from Japan and the earthquake delayed their shipment.

While the guide jacket and attack pants are fairly waterproof and dry fast, I still find the rain gear necessary. Their Chugach rain gear is bar none the best I've used and I have, Helly Hansen, Sitka gear Nimbus rain jacket and Storm front, a couple different Gore tex Jackets and none are as breathable and comfortable as the KUIU.

After my fast few hunts I've started using the Chugach Jacket as my rain jacket and softshell, makes an awesome wind breaker.

I used mine hard all year and have no complaints.

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/