Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Broadheads

Default Broadheads

My wife and son did the shooting exam this past weekend. Both shot well and I was proud. I did learn something about heads and what I thought was legal. Shuttle T's are considered barbed due to being 90 degree from the shaft, and Rage heads are legal mech heads as they due fold back to less than 90 degree if you push them backwards. I know from the history of this sight these are issues we (as hunters) go back and forth on. Just FYI for anyone who had questions on this.

I am a bowhunter education instructor. I will caution you that anything taught in the class as to the legality of anything is purely the opinion of the instructor and not necessarily legal or illegal. I would agree that the Shuttle T appears to be 90deg or slightly back and that would be splitting hairs if it was 90 deg. I would disagree on the Rage since the rear portion of the broadhead does not ever go forward and remains "barbed" throughout it's travel. (watch the animation on their website).

I was with you on this one, and yes it is open to judgement by the trooper making the call. His example (the instructor also retired trooper) was that once open if you push on the back side of the blades they fold forward to less than a 45 degree angle. My 2 cents I dont like Mech Heads. The Shuttle T caught me off guard, I shot these years ago with good results. Only went to muzzy when I could not find the replacement blades for the T's.

Lots of states with the barbed rule and I'm unaware of any that the Shuttle T's are illegal. They sure did a nice job on my bull this year!

Wouldn't it be nice if all the broadhead manufactures put a barbed or non-barbed label on there product