Thread: How Much Brass Removed When Uniforming A Primer Pocket?

Default How Much Brass Removed When Uniforming A Primer Pocket?

On Winchester .223 brass about 0.06975 grains per case.

This is 55.8 grains of shavings from a total of 800 cases. So now you know.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

OK, now I know.....

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

I was thinking of you when I made that little pile.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

I must just not care enough as I've never even uniformed a primer pocket let alone weighed the results. I am curious though. Where does this remove material? Is it just to flatten/uniform the bottom of the primer pocket? I assume it cuts to a predetermined depth. I do uniform flash holes and deburr the front of the flash hole. What is the advantage of uniforming the primer pocket?

The idea is to make each case as close to exactly like every other case. So we trim to the same length, de-burr the flash holes, and uniform the pockets.

Uniforming the pockets allows for each primer to be seated to the same depth so the firing pin doesn't have to push the cup down onto the anvil differently each time: more consistent primer ignition.