Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Stuck Case

  1. #1

    Default Stuck Case

    Been loading for over 35 years and got my first case stuck tonight. Usually load Winchester brass but was loading Remington brass tonight for the 270 Win. Also was using Hornady One Shot for lube. Have used this a couple times before and it worked ok. Probally got in to big of a hurry. Will have to make a trip to town tomorrow to get a stuck case remover before i can do any more.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.
    Posts
    8,808

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cast Iron View Post
    Been loading for over 35 years and got my first case stuck tonight. Usually load Winchester brass but was loading Remington brass tonight for the 270 Win. Also was using Hornady One Shot for lube. Have used this a couple times before and it worked ok. Probally got in to big of a hurry. Will have to make a trip to town tomorrow to get a stuck case remover before i can do any more.
    Good Plan there, Cast Iron:

    I've had to use my RCBS Stuck Case Remover several times.

    I always tell folks to make REEL sure there is lube in the base of the case. That's what caused cases to stick.

    Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Between two lakes in Alaska
    Posts
    952

    Default

    I use a drill, tap, small bolt, washer, and a socket of the right size. Drill a small hole in the primer hole area of the brass, tap it to match you small bolt; run the bolt through the washer and socket into the hole and tighten the bolt a couple of turns. Works just as well and will keep a little $ in your pocket.

  4. #4
    Sponsor ADfields's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Missing Palmer AK in Phonix AZ.
    Posts
    6,416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LeonardC View Post
    I use a drill, tap, small bolt, washer, and a socket of the right size. Drill a small hole in the primer hole area of the brass, tap it to match you small bolt; run the bolt through the washer and socket into the hole and tighten the bolt a couple of turns. Works just as well and will keep a little $ in your pocket.
    Yup, I use a 1/4X20 grade 8. Works the same as the kit and I have all the stuff around here anyway. But if a guy doesn’t have use for this kind of tools so they aren’t available around the house already he may as well buy the kit to keep with his reloading gear. Kit price is not much more than all the parts if you don‘t already have most of them, just a single tap is like 10-20 bucks these days.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    448

    Default

    LeonardC has it right; it is what I did. If you do it right, you won't have to buy a new expander button. Best wishes. J.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Eureka MT
    Posts
    3,048

    Default

    I pulled the head off a 7 Mag case once in a sizing die. That was a little more difficult to get out.

  7. #7
    Sponsor ADfields's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Missing Palmer AK in Phonix AZ.
    Posts
    6,416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rbuck351 View Post
    I pulled the head off a 7 Mag case once in a sizing die. That was a little more difficult to get out.
    Yea I‘ve done that too making 06 brass into 7.7 Jap, took a very long time to get it out of my hard to find 7.7 Jap die!
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •