Thread: Bedding jobs how to

Default Bedding jobs how to

Any one planning a glass bedding job on a rifle in Fairbanks (or surrounding area) any time soon? I've always wanted to learn how. I've watched every youtube video and have read countless articles on the process but would like to see it for real. If you wouldn't mind me watching over your shoulder shoot me a PM. Thanks.

Just to let you know, it really is as easy as it looks. There are steps you need to take, and precautions to heed, and everything will turn out fine. No need to get too anxious. Get a box of Acra-glass gel and follow the directions. It'll turn out good.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

I am looking forward to fitting and bedding my first rifle in the near future. It isn't one I really use on a regular basis so I am not to worried about going about it on my own. The hope is to have it all dressed up for a future hunt w/ my old man when I can finally convince him to make a trip back up this way.

Piece of cake. Some good information that I gathered after doing a few, and I don't beleive it is in the acra glass instructions, was to put two layers of electrical tape on the front, bottom and sides of the recoil lug, then put release agent on top of the tape along with the rest of the contact areas.

The place I've seen guys get in the most trouble is horking down the action too far when you put it in to let the bedding set up. All kinds of cobb can be raised from canting the action to driving the trigger right down into the guard, not to mention problems with mag box/floor plate.