Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Handloading

Default New to Handloading

A friend and I are going to start reloading when his Lee press comes in a week or two. I am new to handloading and have never even seen it done but have been asking a lot of questions at gunshops and researching online.

I will start reloading for my 7mm rem mag that I will use for a moose hunting trip this fall. I need to find a bullet that will shoot well out of my ruger m77. I have heard that Barnes x, failsafes, and nosler partitions are good bullets to start with but how do I go about experimenting with loads without breaking the bank? Should I load 6 of each and see how they group or shoot more? I am sure you all have your normal routine and technique but what is a smart way of going about this?

My primary goal is to just find a load that has the tightest groups with the highest energy that will be the most effective on taking down a moose without going broke during the process. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

The individual right to keep and bear arms shall not be denied or infringed by the State or a political subdivision of the State.

What factory ammo are you using now, brand and bullet weight? Does it shoot well? I would start out with that bullet weight, in barnes or nosler. I would start out with IMR 4350 as your powder. Get a good reloading manual. Start with starting loads and work your way up. You have to remember consistency is the name of the game. If you do it to one case do it to all the cases. Things that will change things, different primers, overall length of cartriadge is more of a fine tuning tool. Some rifles like a small bullet jump some like a large jump. Here is the process I go through

1. Resize and deprime case. If it is my cases that I have shot I just neck size.

2. Clean primer pockets.

3. Deburr flash hole and make sure all flash holes are consistant, (same size)