Thread: Looking for Advice...

Default Looking for Advice...

Hello, I am an aspiring pilot living in CO. I have logged 67 hours in a piper warrior (every lil bit counts right lol), and have run out of funding. I want nothing more than to be a bush pilot in Alaska! I thought I would try to pick anyones brain that is willing...are there any grants, scholarships, etc. available for training? Possibly any companies that would train me and require me to work for free to pay back the cost? Basically any way to get my certifications without taking out huge loans...All I want is to fly, but I feel that I have hit a dead end. Thanks in advance to anyone willing to put in their 2 cents.

Pay as you go while not as quick, will get you were you want to be. Maybe a second job, and use that pay check for your flying. Maybe getting work in the Oil Fields of North Dakota, might pay enough to put a good chunk of cash away for flight training. Right now the flying jobs are very hard to come by, down economy. It will be a few years before the industry recovers. So working and saving might not be a bad thing. Now as for your 67 hours in a Piper Warrior, You have 67 hours in your logbook its way better than Zero, you should be just about ready for a Private Pilot Check Ride. Who says you can just fly and log time when you can over a period of time? Nothing wrong with the warrior, I flown those some myself. Good airplane, back in 1976 I gotten my first job flying one as a charter pilot. I was very young very green. Start will small goals, if you don't have the check ride done, that is the goal, let the rest of the stuff come in steps.

I don't know anything about this website, but it might be worth checking out: http://www.flightschoollist.com/avia...holarships.php

Quote Originally Posted by BH206L3 View Post