Thread: Blue Grouse Advice Needed

Question Blue Grouse Advice Needed

Okay, I'm new to AK and thought I would give hooter hunting a go. I'm used to dove hunting in fields in Tennessee or hunting ducks and geese, but I've never hunted grouse. I live in the Juneau area on Douglas Island. What kind of days are best for hunting them? What elevation? What kind of terrain? How do you look for them? Right now we have set a new record for snow here, I have snowshoes for walking in, but am not sure of best choices of type of area to hunt. All advice appreciated, Thanks

Default Blue grouse

Hello,

I used to live in Haines AK. Hooter hunting is alot of fun. You should definetly wait for the snow to melt. They hang out right, normally, just below the tree line, but I have also shot them just up on ridges. Climbing through all the snow will prove to be very laborious. I think that they start hooting in late April and Early May. Can't remember exactly because it has been a few years since I lived down there. Their hoot sounds like someone is blowing over the top of a soda bottle. Consequently it is sometimes hard pinpoint where the sound is coming from. The males sit up in a tree and hoot and the hens will gather around the bottom of the tree. So be sure to watch the ground in the area where you are walking because you may be able to get some on the ground too.

Have fun.

Default Springtime Blues

.325or8mm

Hunting for Blues is a hoot, please excuse my stupid pun. The best way to time your hunt is to make a few scouting trips until you start hearing them from about mid April into May. You may want to wait for some of the snow to go away to make the walking easier on the lower slopes and I usually wait for a decent, half-way dry day to go out.