Thread: Does anyone bowhunt for small game?

Default Does anyone bowhunt for small game?

I am new to both bowhunting and Fairbanks. I am heading out in the morning to try my luck at shooting some birds and or rabbits... Im not sure what kind of terrain is good (ive read a few posts and will be shooting blind the first few times)... Also I have both blunt rubber tips and Small game heads... What do you use and how does it perform? Thank you to anyone who has input...

I hope to get some small game time this winter. Rubber blunts work good when your in rocks or using carbons. These are my favorite heads for wood arrows. 3/8" copper tubing, washer and screw. DSCF1273.jpg

Bowhunting small game is a lot of fun and very gratifying when you are able to connect. Plan on losing some arrows though.

Here's a grouse I bagged this past moose season -

AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

When I was a kid, I used to rabbit hunt via bow quite a bit. Judo points are the best thing since sliced bread as you'll hardly ever lose an arrow.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

Hunting small game with a bow is, probably, my most enjoyable hunting. I find it very relaxing and stress free.

Here is a video of some grouse hunting
    http://youtu.be/o75zt8MrocQ

Jeff, we gotta get you to lose the training wheels!! (nice pic BTW)
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

I haven't taken the bow out in Alaska yet but have taken bullfrogs to beaver with it before I moved. I love my Judo points. I like the recommendation to use the rubber blunts in rocks though. I think ptarmigan by bow would be sweet and those things are often in places that aren't conducive to a metal tip. Go out and give it a shot (or a dozen)!
    Go Big Red!