Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: kodiak versus the peninsula

Default kodiak versus the peninsula

asking for opinions and or experiences of brown bear hunting on kodiak island versus the peninsula. will be going guided as i'm a non resident. have narrowed my choices on kodiak to mileur, harms, or chervenak. on the peninsula i've spoken to butch king, mike litzen, and canoe bay among others. please provide pros and cons of the areas. i know about the exclusive guide areas on kodiak and have been told by some on the peninsula they too have private or exclusive areas. don't know this as fact. i know kodiak is on a draw permit and it seems the peninsula is open to all during the even and odd seasons. i have heard that alot of the peninsula outfitters run alot of guys through their areas and you are more than likely not hunting with the actual outfitter. want to do this right and make a good choice where i spend my money. any help is appreciated. i am kinda new so my pm feature may not work. thanks.

Just to clarify, "exclusive guide use area", just means that that is the only "guide" that can hunt that area. It doesn't mean that resident hunters (unguided) are excluded from the same area.
    The chances of being guided by the outfitter on a hunt with one of the BIG outfitters (ie: Butch King, AAA are two that come to mind) would be slim, unless you have an understanding with him in advance of your hunt.