Thread: Full or Instep Crampons?

Default Full or Instep Crampons?

I was just curious as to which was a better option. I have never used crampons before but I am looking at doing a goat hunt next year so I was wondering what you guys prefer more. Thanks in advance for your input.

Bo
    "No battle plan ever survives first contact with the enemy" - Unknown
    Literal Translation:
    "Everyone has a plan, until they get punched in the face" - Mike Tyson

Do a search on this forum...this has been talked about a lot. There are 3 basic types of crampons: 4 point instep- light, small, easy to carry, effective, tend to roll and have to be reset regularly; 6 point instep and heel- a little bigger and less compact than the 4 point, they add heel points hich really helps going down hill, less likely to roll so don't need to be re set , I use them the most when climbing in the warmer times, less likely to tear your pant legs; full shoe crampons- spikes from about 3/4" to 2", big and bulky, Maximum gripping, toe spikes really help when climbing up ice, most likely to shread your pant legs, the only thing to have on a glacier.

I started with 4 point crampons on my first goat hunt. I had never tried anything like them, and found I could walk on bare rocks with them without problems. I used them regularly until I got my first 6 point set, and have never used the 4 pointers again. The 6 points are my "go to" system when I think there is wet/slippery ground to wet snow. I then added a set of Kahatoola spikes which are a less aggressive full shoe set and I love them for any frozen condition. I am to old to be slipping and falling. I wear one type of crampons al year long, and I hike even in the worse of weather. I frequently see folks slipping and sliding where I am not having any problems and I share with them the secret of crampons :-)