Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: school system

Default school system

I know this is a hunting forum, but my family and I are considering moving to Alaska. I have a 13 year old, and I would like to know if any of you have school age kids. If so what do think of the school system they are in? My son likes sports, but our main focus is on academics particularly math and science. Thanks, Tim

You might want to mention the community you are thinking of moving to, it could have some bearing.

What area of the state are you looking at, Tim? Alaska is vast and the school systems vary from place to place. I am a high school science teacher in the Anchorage School District and there are a number of other teachers on here as well. My own kids aren't of school age yet, but from a teacher's perspective, there is a lot of good things going on in our district. As with any public school system, there are certainly some teachers that aren't the best, but overall I think our district does a pretty good job and has some excellent educators working with the students.

Where do you think you might end up? Folks will be able to give a more accurate picture if you have that much figured out.

I've been to Alaska twice, and my wife once with me. The places we are considering are somewhere on the Kenai pen, Anchorage, and the Wasilla area. We have also thought about Fairbanks. These are the places we have visited while up there. While we want to move to Alaska for the adventure, we also want to make sure our son gets an education that will prepare him for college. I know some school systems are better than others in Alabama, so I just want him to get a quality education. Thanks, Tim