Thread: Need gear reduction for 350 where can I find one

Default Need gear reduction for 350 where can I find one

I'm new to airboats and I have a 350 chevy I need a gear reduction for it and I don't know where to find one.

Give Me A CAll 907-322-3291

What gear ratio are you looking for? Sounds like you are asking for a gearbox, would you also consider a belt reduction? Do you already have a prop? If you are now set up for direct drive and have a good prop, you may be able to use the same prop if you put on a belt drive, while if you go to a gearbox, you will need a new prop because the gear reduction spins prop in opposite direction. Skip in Fairbanks has some used units, maybe has what you want. Panther/Classic airboats in Florida usually has new and used units in stock. Tell us more about your boat, what you intend to use it for, if more after speed or power, what size is it. Need a lot more information to make a reccomendation. Feel free to ask away and lots here will work with you. One of the most important considerations is "how deep are your pockets" Bud
    Wasilla

Well I don't know anything about the gear reduction I had a buddy who was helping me when I got the boat but he's no help anymore and I had a Mazda rotary 4 cylinder on there and I was told the prop will work on the 350 I have I just need the gear reduction. I was just going off what he was telling me I trusted him on his decisions but he's not helping anymore. I don't want to change anything to where I have to buy all new parts like a prop. Any advise on what you would do if it was your boat would help a lot.

Martin,
    Did you recently acquire this boat from a guy on Craigslist? Is it camo?
    Regardless....CALL SKIP OLSEN.
    BK