Thread: New guy questions

Default New guy questions

My wife and I are moving up there next summer, after she gets out of collage. What are some of the biggest problems I might have in moving up there? How hard is it to find a place to rent/lease/buy? One of my biggest goals in moving up there is to hunt a lot, so I dint really want to be in Anchorage. I like Fairbanks location. I am a very good machinist, as well as a fabricator, welder, and a great taxidermist. I'm sure I can find a job doing something. I hope to pay for my hunting by doing taxidermy. Any tops or suggestions you guys can give me on moving up there?

Where exactly are you moving from? That will help with the responses.
    Lots of people can't deal with the cold in winter or the lack of daylight in winter also. Fairbanks get down to -40* and colder every winter and has days of very little daylight witch can cause some people to have sad (seasonal affective disorder) . If you are moving from a state that has snow and cold that will be less of an isue.
    Hunting areas on the road system can be crowded or at least they sometimes seem that way. Don't expect to hunt somewhere you didn't fly into and expect not to see other hunters.
    There are always jobs in AK for those who are willing to work. You may not land your dream job right away but give it patience and be prepared to work at whatever you can find until other opportunities present themselves.
    I do not live in fairbanks so I couldn't give you much info on that.
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"