Thread: Self taught looking for more advise/books

Question Self taught looking for more advise/books

I have been fly fishing for two years now and just taught myself. Don't have real any clue how to tie fly fishing knots, how to set up my rod, which flies to use (dry,wet), all that stuff.... any good videos or books anyone recommends that I can use and/or any personal advise... I know it's a broad range here I'm talking about but anything will help me to become a better fisherman. Thanks
    2005 Weldcraft 24' Ocean King
    Keepin R' Wet
    Wasilla, AK

Bring your rod and reel to 3 Rivers, ask them to help you set it up and how to fish what flies. Buy some flies, tippet and other stuff you need. These guys are willing to help and supporting them will insure they will help you out at the next stage of your fly fishing needs. The will be having classes on fly tying and rod building starting in Nov.

I will be back in the valley by the 6th of Oct and would love to meet you there during the day if you have that time available. PM me or email me from my link at the bottom of this post. Good luck.

Honestly, what will help the most is to just get out there and fish. You will learn your own style of fly fishing and determine what is most comfortable for you and what flies you like to use best, ect. You can watch videos but it really doesnt help much until you try it out in the field. Good luck!

Post some questions here (like the one you did) and learn from the experienced guys here. Upon getting some basic info and suggestion, google the crap out of it. Tons of info online, youtube videos, knot animations, etc... As for books, especially for fly fishing Alaska, get these two.

"Topwater, Fly Fishing Alaska..." by Tony Weaver and Troy Letherman

"Fly Fisher's Guide to Alaska" by Scott Haugen

Both can be bought on the forum store if I recall, certainly on Amazon and in bigger book stores as well.