Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice fishing the valley

Default Ice fishing the valley

Hi guys,
    I'm new to AK this year from Michigan. I LOVE TO ICE FISH AND CANT WAIT FOR THE HARDWATER!!!! I've fished quite a bit of big water back home, mostly for walleye, pike and perch. (simcoe, earie, mitchells bay etc). I did bring my vex, lures and rods and a few tip ups, not much else.

I need to re-buy the items I sold back home and would appreciate some advice, I've searched the forum without success.

-Would you buy an Igloo (the one in the red bag) that appears to be similar to a auto expanding hunting blind and a seperate sled or a self contained unit like a fish hut that folds out of the sled? How do you anchor the igloo? I've used a rope and t-bar down a seperate hole to anchor a fish hut but the igloo is like a tent right?

-Had a strikemaster lazor drill, only issue I had was the throttle linkage, is there a more popular model for AK? I have looked at the propane model, have some concerns about the regulator freezing, but would be nice not to mess with gas.

-Are there any ice fishing festivals in the valley area?

-For fishing the lakes in the valley should I get a snowmachine or 4 wheeler?

Hope to meet some of you on the water,
    Ron

Im partial to Eskimo brand products... Never had a problem with them and even in the worst conditions they've never let me down.. I use a Eskimo quickfish 6 pop up shelter ( the 3 man is greAt too just depends on your needs) and it comes with about 8 ice anchors Which I have personally used in 70mph winds on Long lake in sutton successfully...they are easy to set up even by yourself...for an Auger I have owned a Eskimo mako 4.3 10" for the last 4 seasons and it's never let me down...

Release Lake Trout

Snow machine for sure. Ice season is long up here 6 months long.

Defiantly the snowmachine if bought primarily for the hard water fishing.