Thread: The last 60 yards?

Default The last 60 yards?

I've been hunting with a bow for 35 years but this is only my 4th year hunting moose. I've called in about a dozen bulls and I believe 6 of those were over 50". This year I had a monster 60+ come in on the first day of the hunt after one series of calls. I've figured out how to get them to come but every one of the big boys hang up at 60 yards. I can keep them interested for while. I can get them to turn back a few times but I just can't get them to commit and come into stickbow range. What's the secret? Call softer? Get louder? Put lipstick and a nighty on Bessie the decoy?

If you have a hunting partner, one tactic to try is one guy cow call and the other guy rake brush and do bull grunts. Put a little distance between you and your partner (30-60 yards or so depending on the set-up). Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

north pole

Yeah hunting partner, have a shooter and caller and set up depending on situation/wind caller would be in the back shooter foward where you think a bull would come,

I called my butt off all season and have 1 bull grunt back, a cow moose come to call, and something walking to my front, obviously your doing the calling right and in the right area.