Thread: Interpret this weather in Homer

Default Interpret this weather in Homer

I'm not an expert in kachemak bay conditions. What will the conditions be like around the spit area (2 to 5 miles southwest ) if the forecast holds true for the weekend.

My guess is I wouldn't take my 16 ft open river skiff. But maybe a 24ft sea runner might be ok? Just wondering since I take my kayak out in seas I wouldn't take an open skiff but I need to be reasonable.

PKZ140-300300-
    COOK INLET NORTH OF KAMISHAK BAY AND ENGLISH BAY
    400 AM AKDT THU SEP 29 2011

...SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY FRIDAY...

.TODAY...VARIABLE WIND 10 KT. SEAS 2 FT.
    .TONIGHT...VARIABLE WIND 10 KT. SEAS 2 FT.
    .FRI...NE WIND 15 KT INCREASING TO 25 KT IN THE AFTERNOON.
    SEAS 3 FT BUILDING TO 7 FT IN THE AFTERNOON.
    .FRI NIGHT...NE WIND 25 KT. SEAS 8 FT.
    .SAT...N WIND 25 KT. SEAS 8 FT.
    .SUN...NE WIND 20 KT. SEAS 5 FT.
    .MON...N WIND 20 KT. SEAS 5 FT.

$$

PKZ141-300300-
    KACHEMAK BAY
    400 AM AKDT THU SEP 29 2011

.TODAY...VARIABLE WIND LESS THAN 10 KT BECOMING W 10 KT
    IN THE AFTERNOON. SEAS 2 FT.
    .FRI...E WIND 10 KT BECOMING NE 15 KT IN THE AFTERNOON.
    SEAS 3 FT. RAIN.
    .FRI NIGHT AND SAT...NE WIND 20 KT. SEAS 4 FT.
    .SUN...E WIND 20 KT. SEAS 3 FT.
    .MON...N WIND 15 KT. SEAS 2 FT.

$$

Doable, but not fun in the 24.

Means find a good hunting or fishing book, fire up the woodstove, pour a glass of Jack and sit back.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

Doable, yes, but Daveinthebush has the right idea here. Just depends on how bad you wanna go I guess.

Ok. It's just it seems the cook inlet forecast seems off when fishing anchor point when the points shield you from the wind.

I see big water for cook inlet and not so big for kachemak and lately I have noticed much higher wind speeds it seems on the west side of cook inlet. I'd consider at 20kts and 4 ft. But not 5 to 7 ft for sure.