Thread: New to Fairbanks

Default New to Fairbanks

I just moved to Fairbanks a few days ago from Montana and it's my first time in Alaska. Of course I'll be missing out on any big game hunting this year, but I'd like to get into more small game stuff anyway. Winter is approaching a bit faster than I expected (rookie mistake), but I was just wondering what's good this time of year in this area. I ultimately just want to get outside, so any suggestions are appreciated. I'm definitely not asking for any great secret places (don't post that stuff online! I'll figure it out later) but if anyone has any general information I'm really just looking for a place to start. Thanks

Welcome to Fairbanks! Lots to do. Sounds like you are willing to get out there and seek adventure and knowledge mostly on your own. I like that. I'd be more than happy to steer you in the right direction. Been here some 41 years and may have learned something along the way? You picked a good place to start asking questions and reading past threads and such, but you also should stop by ADF&G or check out their website for lots of useful information. Tell us more about yourself, and your interests and we'll go from there.

Jim