Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The bull I let walk...

Question The bull I let walk...

I called this bull out of the timber and he held up at just over 100 yds. He had 4 cows who reluctantly followed. I was hunting on the southern Kenai Peninsula, where the new regs. call for 4 brow tines or 50 inches. He had 3 brow tines on his left antler and 2 on his right. I looked him over for about 15 min. and decided not to pull the trigger. I took a lot of photos of him, but as he disappeared back into the timber, I thought that I was letting a legal bull walk. What’s your estimate on the antler width?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Got any photos from the front?

49 inches.

He's close but I think you were right to let him walk...

If that is the only view to judge, I let him walk also.

This bull is similar to the one I shot this year except mine had a bit larger paddles and it was a 47".....4 brows on one side...

I'm no expert here but I would have let him go as well... good call....

Also the ones we let go no matter what are always under 50"....lol

You made the right call. I would put him in the high forties, but doubt he is over fifty.

He's close but I would have let him walk as well.

I don't like the way the beams rise up from the skull. Usually 50"+ bulls lay flat or dip down a little. He looks like high 40's to me.

hard for me to get a good estimate with his head turned slightly the way it is. He has the look of a moose in the mid-high 40's though. Pretty frustrating huh?
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

when in doubt, let 'em walk

You made a good call, he may have been either way- but you know you did not break the law and give us hunters another blackeye.

As tough as it is- good job!

Chris

From that angle, I just cant do the math to come up to 50+ inches. With a bull moose of this questionable size, I need a straightaway front or rear view to make a 50 inch SHOOT or NO-SHOOT decision.