Thread: down hill ski advice

Default down hill ski advice

I'm needing some advice on which kind of skis to buy. I'm not in tune w/ the modern equipment, I've skied all my life but I've had the same pair of K2 710 comps 215 cm for 25 years lol. I rented a pair of those funky parabolic skis last year and I didn't like the way they performed. I had cranked the binding to the max and they still hardly wanted to stay on. I'm an expert skier and didn't like the way they turned by themselves and chattered at high speeds. My buddy said I need some fat skis, but I'm not sure which ones. They're all so short now days, I'm confused. I like the steep and deep and I also like hitting the bumps (not many moguls anymore thanks to the boarders) but Alyeska is usually icy, do fat skis work on the ice? Also boots are a major issue, I used to wear Langes but they are burger grinders on the feet. I then bought some solomon boots and I had to unbuckle them every run cause they too killed my feet. I'm old school so I'm not up to snuff on the new gear any advice would be appreciated. I now know how my dad used to feel, I swear he was the last one in Alaska to wear leather boots and ski on 215 cm Head 360's w/ Miller binders. In the chair lift line the kids used to giggle at his gear, but they didn't giggle when he was popping down the bumps using the old Stein Erikson method w/ his long boards.

I'm taking a poll
    <--------click this star if you think I should run for Gov