Thread: Mid October Adak caribou hunt

Default Mid October Adak caribou hunt

I'm new to AK and I happen to have some spare time in mid/late Oct - so I am thinking about heading to Adak in mid Oct to see if I can can get some caribou meat. I've been reading some past threads on the forum to get as much info as possible. While I have lots of lower 48 midwest hunting experience, this will be my first outing in AK, so if anybody has hunting recently in Adak, would you mind sharing some intel on what I should expect and try to avoid? Is Oct even a good time to head out there?

I have a lab that is dying to retrieve some birds- would it be worthwhile to take him for ptarmigan or duck hunting? I will be going by myself, and based on what I have read, there are 4 wheelers and argos available so going alone should not be too problematic....right?

Any contemporary info is appreciated - thanks!

A friend of mine just got back from a trip to Adak hunting bou. They were successful at it taking a couple cows. It is a tough hunt. Be mentally prepared for a lot of hiking. They rented a wheeler for 150 a day and used it to get the meat out. I recall him mumbling something about good raingear. LOL Weather is the critical issue on Adak as the runway has a chain link windsock if this tells you anything. Be prepared and have a great trip !!!
    Pick A Spot

By mid-Oct the bou will be getting 'closer' to town, but the above statement is correct - good rain gear and be prepared to hike. Last year the mid-October folks were working areas about 2-4 miles south of the road system beyond Finger Bay and north of Slaughter Alley. Of course these animals move a lot so on any given day they can be right in front of you as well. Realize it's BIG country...238 square miles and the road system covers about 15% of that. As you say you are looking for meat - that's the right mentality out there. Although there are still a few - it's not the bull factory it used to be years ago.