Thread: Hunting gear in AK

Default Hunting gear in AK

The wife and kids and I are looking into moving to Alaska next year. The current plan is to come do a looksy after tax time, look at the jobs on the ground ( I'm a unemployed CNC machinist and the wifes a CNA ) to see if there are jobs for us. I'm already looking at a used Remington 700 in .338 ( only had a few rounds ( 3 ) go through it, his hunting trip to Montana fell thru ). My question is about gear. Whats the best gear ? Is the prices reasonable there or bring it with me ? I like Juneau area but seems more jobs for me in Anchorage area so gear suggestions would be helpful. I live in Vermont so cold I know. I use a wood stove in winter but I see alot of homes with looks like space heaters on the wall. Any help would be great, my wifes cousin and her husband want to move to AK too and we'll all be coming tax refund season ( may ) depending on flights. My wife is from the Philippines so we know long flights. Brian

Tons of folks on this forum with a wealth of information on the outdoors, hunting, fishing and gear. If you posted more specific questions on what kind of gear you're referring to, I'm sure you'll get more detailed responses. Plenty of places to buy gear up there in Anchorage. In Juneau, I'm sure there's a place or two, but not as many as Anchorage.

Good luck on the move!

Hunting Gear in/for AK... Probably a lot of what you already have would work perfectly well in Alaska... There are several very good outlets in Anchorage that sell excellent hunting gear.. and there is always Cabela's and Bass Pro and ??? on the internet.. I'd guess the prices are reasonable... You can beat the local prices on the internet, but when you add on the shipping the local prices are usually a nickle or two better... Except when Cabela's and some of the others offer free shipping as they have been doing lately to stir up business... Good idea to do the looksy... Good luck in your ventures...