Thread: Early-Mid October Fishing

Default Early-Mid October Fishing

Hey Folks,

Been lurking on the forums here for a while, finally posting because my searches haven't turned up much.

I'll be flying into ANC on the 7th of October and I'll be around until the night of the 11th. I know this isn't prime visiting (or, for that matter, prime fishing time) but it's how things worked out. I'm a novice fisherman and I have a decent spinning rod and reel that I'll be bringing along with me. I have a 21' RV I'll be crusing in, so that will limit me as to the areas I can access, but other than that I have no plans or particular target, fish-wise ,but from what I've seen, it sounds like silvers and rainbow/steelhead are my best bets.

I've spent a little time in Soldotna and Seward and would be happy to head back down that direction, maybe heading over to Kenai and Homer this time. I'd also be open to other areas within 6-8 hours of Anchorage if anyone has better suggestions. I'm quite certain I'll find whatever else else I'm looking for (hiking, wildlife) along with plenty of rain/snow wherever I go, so I'm really focused on where I can find the best fishing! I would like to be able to take a few home, as well.

On a side note, another thing I've had trouble finding is how hard it will be for me to park overnight in an RV. I've seen many campgrounds online but most close in September. I don't need a hookup, just a place to park. I see some State Parks have fist-come-fist-serve sites which is what I'll probably do, but any advice would be appreciated.

Sorry if this is a subject that has been visited before -- I searched but didn't have much like finding any other threads about what and where to fish in October.

South would be my choice. The Upper Kenai should still be producing decent trout fishing, the Anchor should be heating up for steelhead (I believe, haven't fished it in years, someone who knows better will likely chime in).