Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking for a new rod... 3 or 4 wt?

Default Looking for a new rod... 3 or 4 wt?

Hey guys,

I am new to fly fishing and I am wanting a 3 or 4 wt in 4 to 6 pieces. I want something light and packable. It would be used mostly for grayling and dollies on the Parks. Looking for any suggestions on makes, models, pros, cons and personal experience on what works for them. Suggestions on reels would be welcome too. I already have a 2 pc 6 wt, just looking for something more packable and better suited for smaller streams and creeks.

Thanks

Really kind of depends on your budget $$$. I wouldn't get one that's less than 8ft 6

I was thinking of a bubget between 5 and 750 for the rod and real. maybe its just the rod but the 6 i have now just feels to heavy for the smaller fish

Consider the Orvis Frequent Flyer 7 piece rod and an Orvis Battenkill BBS I or II reel. This is a very lightweight and portable 4 wt system. I have it in 6 wt also. Backpack, Harley saddlebag, etc.. this combo travels well. A true medium type action without feeling cheap. Much better action than I would have expected for so many sections. Admittingly, I feel this set up is better for the type of fishing I would often do with my 4 wt than the 6 wt. Floating line, dries, some nymphs, the 4 wt set up is pretty awesome if a tidy package is needed. As a less expensive option, check out some of the travel rods (5-6 pc) combos from Cabelas.

Rod

http://www.orvis.com/store/product_d...subcat_id=7445

Reel

http://www.orvis.com/store/product.aspx?pf_id=40C7

-Dan

yeah, those look nice. I would like to put my hands on one. Are most of you that fish on the parks mostly using 5 wt? Ive been fishing these waters many years on spinning gear and always liked the feel of light sensitive rods