Thread: Need holes in a stainless plate

Default Need holes in a stainless plate

Might be the wrong place but I check these boards and it is for saltwater fishing.

I have a stainless steel gimbal mount for a canon. I need it to fit a Penn mount. Basically I just need four holes drilled through it. None of my power tools are going to go through a 1/8 to 1/4 inch stainless plate.

Two questions:

1) Where can I get it done in Anchorage
    2) Is it going to cost me more than the $100 bucks for a new stainless steel mount?

Anyone with a drill press, or even a handheld Makita for that matter, and regular old HSS bits should be able to drill 1/4 inch SS plate with ease. Am I missing something?
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

Yeah, I'd have to agree. I would just purchase the best high speed drill bit you can find.
    Year round saltwater fishing adventures in Homer, AK.
    http://muttleycrewfishing.com

Any machine shop can do the job, heck most people with a modicom of tools can pull it off at home, but there may be some inacuracy in drilling the holes.