Thread: Eklutna Lake anyone hunt it.

Default Eklutna Lake anyone hunt it.

Hi everyone.

I am new to Bow hunting and I get the Eklutna Lake registration hunt for moose. I just wanted to know if anyone has hunted the area and if they could tell me anything about it the best way to hunt the area, are people successful, or good advice.

Thanks.

People are successful, but at a fairly low rate. If I recall, the average quota in there is 4 moose, and despite people being out there every day, it usually takes weeks to fill that quota if it gets filled at all. The moose densities are surprisingly low around the lake (not great browse and lots of bears) and almost the entire valley leading up to the lake is private property. Still, it can't hurt to try. Take along a black bear tag and some small game arrowheads and you should have a great time. For what it's worth, I've only hunted up there twice and both times called in other hunters. I'd head as far afield as possible.

I've hunted it and had the same success as Brian above stated. (Although it is fun to call in other hunters and then scoot quietly out of there.) Had a friend whack one two years ago so they are there but not in numbers. Seems there were more hunters than moose every time I went.
    BK

That really sucks to hear, but I will give it a try, there is only one way to get a moose and that is to get out and try.

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

Quote Originally Posted by bkmail View Post
    Seems there were more hunters than moose every time I went.
    BK
    You just described all of South Central AK!!!!

Moose hunting is not what it used to be.