Thread: Nice boat?

Default Nice boat?

I'm new to Alaska from Oregon. I love the sea and fishing and, now that I'm in a less crowded area with MUCH cheaper docking fees, am thinking about buying a boat. Im looming for a power boat, not a sailboat. Something I could take out for up to 3 days at a time, that would be fairly sturdy and tolerant. My budget is about 6500 bucks. Can anybody help me out?

Quote Originally Posted by Seth Smith View Post
    I'm new to Alaska from Oregon. I love the sea and fishing and, now that I'm in a less crowded area with MUCH cheaper docking fees, am thinking about buying a boat. Im looming for a power boat, not a sailboat. Something I could take out for up to 3 days at a time, that would be fairly sturdy and tolerant. My budget is about 65,000 bucks. Can anybody help me out?
    There you go, I helped you out!
    Experience is a hard teacher because you get the test first and the lesson afterwards.

For a safe boat you are looking at $25,000 less than that you are looking at having your hands full! Look at Alaska boats and permits some good buys!

it can be done, keep your eyes open, I know a few folks who've picked up decent bayliners in that price range.
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

You can get a nice skiff for that. Pack a tent and there you go....3 days on a boat.

You'd be pretty lucky to find something worth buying for what you want to do for $6000. A $6000 Bayliner is going to turn into a major money pit. Look at what a new one costs and then ask yourself why the person selling it only wants $6000 for it (in other words major repairs they don't feel like dealing with). I'd have to say $25,000, like MGH55 said, is more like it. I paid almost twice that for something I'd consider taking out for 3 days at a time. If you're going out that far and for so long paying as much as you can is just insurance you're not going to either have to be rescued or die.