Thread: When to find a new hunting area?

Default When to find a new hunting area?

How many unsucessful trips into an area untill you give up on it? i am new to hunting around the mat-sue area, last year i looked on google and found some spots that looked promising. last year i went out and scouted the area, of course there were signs that people had hunted there before but there were no fresh camping sign. the two camps i saw hadnt been used for a few years it looked like. while scouting there were some signs that moose had been through the area but i didnt see any moose nor did i see any brush or trees that had been scraped. this year i went back one camp was occupied so i didnt go there. the other place was empty so i went out and did a little calling. i saw signs that moose had been there but i still didnt see any moose. i am about ready to give up and find some place elese. if i had seen a cow or two i would be more confident that this area would a bull. have i given this area a fair chance or should i move on? i read on here a few years ago some went to the same hunting camp for 5 or 6 years and never saw a moose, to me that is a good area for drinking and camping not hunting.

You and I will never stop looking for a better spot. But will always hunt the best spot we know. So keep looking there is alot more time to look then hunt.

Unless your fortunate enough to do a few recon trips into an area, and know for a fact it holds moose- you just never know. The MatSuarea does have several areas that hold moose every fall, even once the bulls have been cleared out- each fall new ones return. I know 3 spots that regularly house just spike/forks with many cows in the area. I know they are there- but they seem to know the regs as well as I do.

Its a big Alaska, and you should easily move on till you find what your looking for.