Thread: Cutco stands behind their warranty

Default Cutco stands behind their warranty

Just a quick post (that I'll put on the hunting forum too) about how Cutco did a good job standing behind their product. I bought their fishermans solution filet knife about 4-5 years ago, and I've almost exclusively cleaned all my fish since then with this knife. To sum it up, I like the knife. Then I was laying off halibut filets a few weeks ago, and when I was flexing the knife to make my first pass at laying off a filet, the blade snapped! It broke flush with the handle. I did not have the blade extended, and I was putting the normal amount of pressure on the blade, which isn't much since excessive pressure isn't needed and can actually work against you.

So with that said, I was of course bummed, but I contacted Cutco first and then sent the knife back to them for replacement under their "forever guarantee". I included a note explaining what happened and that I'm not a novice user because they also have a plan for replacement when a failure is a result of abuse or misuse, but under that plan, the owner pays 1/2 the replacement cost.

They didn't flinch. I would have been happy if they just replaced the blade, but they sent me back a completely new knife & sheath! Good for them!

Here's a picture of the broken knife.

Excellent news. I have that same knife and really like it, I also have a five of their kitchen knives and have been very happy with them. Great warranty, made in AMERICA and high quality. What more is their to ask for ?

FYI, this company has been featured on "Modern Marvels" cable program and has the reputation as being considered the "sharpest knife made".