Thread: predator calling help

Default predator calling help

ok guys i am just getting into predator calling and over the weekend i have made about a dozen stands and the only thing i have been able to call in is birds mostly camp robber's but also raven and a hawk. now i am using an old fp38 and the only sound on the unit that brings in birds is the wood pecker distress, no other sound on there has had any activity, i have hunted dawn,dusk,afternoon,night with the same results every time except no birds at night, last night while driving to a stand i had a fox cross the rd. about 1/4mi. from were i was going calling i thought that was a good sign but nothing came in, i have sat for an hour at a stand and i have sat for 15min at a stand i usually start with low volume and work my way up and change sound every 5-7min, can you guys give me any tips or info would it be better when we get some white stuff or do i need a new call with more state specific sounds. any tips or info would be great thanks guys scott

Supporting Member

Just out of curiosity, why are you calling at this time of year? Furs can't be prime yet, even in the interior. JMO, but not much point in killing them if they are not worth anything.

well im doing it now because im trying to decide weather or not to spend $700 on a new caller i may be working through the winter and may not have time to trap not for me anyways i like to check traps every day or at least every other day im not bashing on guys that check once a week i just dont like animals to be sitting out there in a trap for a week, i just bought a $1000 rifle just for this and im wanting to see what it does to hides plus i have an open spot on my wall for a yote or fox.