Thread: New to Duck Hunting

Default New to Duck Hunting

Hey, I am new to duck hunting been only twice when I was younger but I am especially new to it in Alaska. I am on leave this week and was looking for some general areas and advice on hunting. I am not asking for secret spots but just somewhere to get started so I can scout on my own. Thanks a lot for your time and all help is appreciated.

It all depends on where you are stationed? Are you in Fairbanks or Anchorage? If your up here in Fairbanks I could help you out and I'm sure there's a lot more that would be willing to help you out as well. As for secret duck spots I don't think there are any! I know no matter where I go there's at least 2 other people there!

Yeah I guess telling where I am at would help out a lot lol. I am in Anchorage, I just not sure where to start I also should've mentioned I have a canoe. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by AirmanFirstClass View Post

looking for some general areas and advice on hunting. I am not asking for secret spots but just somewhere to get started so I can scout on my own.
    With a canoe you can go to the Jim Creek swamps off of Maud Road or the Hay flats using Rabbit Slough. For a new hunter on their own the Jim Creek swamps would be a little safer and easier to handle.