Thread: Haul road caribou

Default Haul road caribou

I'm new to AK and was wondering if driving the haul road for caribou was a worthwhile hunt. I would mainly be hunting in the 5-mile zone, but I would pack a rifle just in case I wanted to hike to the outside of it. What area of the road is the best spot to hunt? I was thinking a bit north of the Jim river. Does anybody know if there are any bou in there?

Go further north until you find caribou. Right now there are bou just north of Toolik and just north of Pump 2. Jim River is too far south.

What area of the road is the best spot to hunt?
    I wouldn't hunt on the road since it is illegal. I'd at least get off the shoulder and look at hunting on the tundra or river bed. You just have to find the bou and figure the best way out to them. Make sure nobody else is stalking them or set up. You can also get a ways off the road if you see bou moving through and wait in ambush.

Good luck.

I am looking to go up the haul rd myself, I am looking for someone to go with and split costs?? I have never been up there before.. My schedule is really open let me know if you may be interested??
    Thanks

Seth Smith, I just returned from the North Slope three days ago. We saw many small groups of caribou (three to seven animals) from the road. I assume you are primarily an archer for this hunt. You can drive the Hall road looking for animals but that is also the idea of other hunters. You have to first sight the animals and then make your stalk. The caribou are very nervous at the sight of trucks slowing-down or stopping. Your driver should let you off above or below the animals. You will be moving from the side for a possible shot. You should be prepared to crawl on the ground for the last 200 yards. If you attempt to approach from a standing position, this will only minimize any chances of a successful shot. Move forward only when the animal is distracted and not looking at you.