Thread: snow machine cover and ramp??

Default snow machine cover and ramp??

Hey guys,

Total noob with snow machines. My neighbor graciously allowed me the use of his snow machine this winter. As far as I can tell it's a 2003 polaris 550 RMK 136" track. I don't know much about them but looking forward to learning. Mostly going to use it for trails, small game and predators this winter.

two questions. Can anyone recommend a waterproof cover for outdoor storage?? Also, is it necessary to purchase ramps to get it into the truck bed or can it be done with two people lifting it into the back of the bed??

Thanks again!

Check out the Ski-doo covers, much better than the old Polaris canvas ones. Or, get a generic one from Cabelas, Fred Meyers, or Wal-Mart. They also do a pretty good job of shedding the weather.
    Often people without trailers load their sleds into the pickup bed via a ramp or snowbank in the parking lot.
    BK

You can pick up a generic cover for about $50-$60 at WMart.

A ramp makes loading/unloading easier but two men can horse a machine into the back of a pickup.
    If cave men had been trophy hunters the Wooly Mammoth would be alive today

Thanks for the input guys,

I picked up a set of ramps and an old truck bed liner for the skis. It's a trifold atv ramp, but I think I can screw strips of the bed liner on there to help with the skis for loading.

I have short bed f150. I think the sled will hang off the back of the tail gate by about 18". Is it okay to just strap it down that way, or is that too much weight for the tail gate to handle? The other thing I was thinking of doing was taking two more strips and screwing them onto a piece of ply wood and placing it the full length of the bed and tail gate to maybe support the weight better.

Has anyone done this before?? Any other thoughts??

I'll look into the covers from walmart....