Thread: Eureka Caribou

Default Eureka Caribou

Went out today Near the Eureka and gun sight mountain area to hunt for some caribou. From the stories I've heard is there are all over in that area. (The stories made it sound easy)
    When we were up there we did not see any caribou. I have never hunted this area before so I just rode my wheeler and glassed around on hill tops and it just seems like the animals just weren't there. Was I in the wrong area at the wrong time? Maybe in a couple more weeks they would be in that area. Please help a newbie here. PM if needed thanks

if you don't find one keep driving. i haven't seen a 'bou near gunsight or eureka in years...gotta get back into the mnts to the north quiet a ways last i knew. just check some of the aug caribou success threads on here and you'll see where guys have been going for caribou.
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

I was heading out to the Denali Highway early Saturday morning to fill my tag and saw one cross the road right in front of Sheep Mountain Lodge. I had never seen one anywhere along the Parks before.

Quote Originally Posted by Judd View Post
    I was heading out to the Denali Highway early Saturday morning to fill my tag and saw one cross the road right in front of Sheep Mountain Lodge. I had never seen one anywhere along the Parks before.

sheep mountain lodge isnt on the parks........
    They say its unsafe to own a gun, I say its unsafe to have only one!!!

Sheep mountain lodge is on the Glenn

Sheep creek lodge is on the parks

So which is it?..........................