Thread: Newbie questions

Default Newbie questions

I'm a newbie, and although these questions sound stupid to most of you, I need to learn the basics sooner or later. First, what do you use to bait bears? People always say bait, but what is the bait? Second, how long do you need to be baiting an area before bears come in? Please answer, I need the info, and I couldn't find it on the forum. Thanks

Bait = anythingfrom popcorn, dog food, doughnuts, cobor anything sweet tasting.

How long it takes to find the bait depends on the area. Sometimes it takeshours and sometimes it takes days even weeks. I had one this year that never did get hit. I won't be going back there again.

I hope this answers the questions.

Olin

I would agree with the food. I did some different things this year and figured out that popcorn is the best. Its light and hold some different scents that makes it sweeter and smell wonderful. As for how long it takes, my first stand didnt get hit until the last week of June, and the one I put up this year got hit 5 mins after i baited it and never stopped getting hit. If you live in the Fairbanks area and would like to learn more, let me know and I will meet with you and teach you some easy things to do.
    Hunt until you don't like it any more

Quote Originally Posted by Seth Smith View Post
    First, what do you use to bait bears? People always say bait, but what is the bait? Second, how long do you need to be baiting an area before bears come in? Please answer, I need the info, and I couldn't find it on the forum. Thanks
    I'm new to this sort of thing but use dog food, candy, syrups, honey, and left overs from the kitchen cupboard and refrigerator. In potentially brown bear areas, I stay away from using fish or other smelly meat proteins.

Second, how long do you need to be baiting an area before bears come in? Please answer, I need the info, and I couldn't find it on the forum. Thanks