Thread: Trapping lynx/wolf

Default Trapping lynx/wolf

Hey guys, I need some tips on lynx and wolf sets. Thanks

Where are you at? what type of terrain...? Lynx are usually caught with some type of cubby sets with snares around the main set since they usually circle before going in after the bait. Wolf are alot more unpredictable and should be caught with snares around bait piles/kill sites.

Quote Originally Posted by Seth Smith View Post
    Hey guys, I need some tips on lynx and wolf sets. Thanks
    Is this a serious thread?

Well, yeah. I just moved up from Oregon. Obviously we don't have any lynx or wolf there, although I have been trapping most everything else for around 20 years. I'm new to this, so I thought I would ask a basic question, for basic answers.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	trapline 2010 077.jpg 
Views:	235 
Size:	56.9 KB 
ID:	52362Click image for larger version. 

Name:	trapline 2010 059.jpg 
Views:	218 
Size:	57.2 KB 
ID:	52363
    Couple of my lynx/marten sets. Consist of a number 3 or 4 and a 120.

Welcome to AK! This is only my second season up here so take my advice with that in mind (20+ years trapping in WA and ID prior). I trapped lynx last year under my marten sets. I found leaning pole marten sets worked better for me than just on the tree. This made for a perfect spot to hand a piece of moose hide or chunk of beaver under the pole along with Magnum Marten lure SKUNKY!!! Helped bring in marten but also brought the cats in.

Wolves, well I didn't get any last year. With that said I'm really not looking for them. I aways have two dozen wolf snares in my trapping pack. If I ever come across a moose kill that is active I'm planning on follow the game trails out as far as I can and make blind sets. I had a buddy get one last year on a scent post. He could see where they had been marking a tree and put a #4.5 in the trail heading to the spot on a drag and got a nice male.