Thread: spinner blade and body colors

Question spinner blade and body colors

King or coho fishing.
    There are some recommendations about spinner blade and body colors depending from position of the sun, clarity of the water or from overcast etc...?
    Thanks

As a general rule, I always went with a green/chartruse (?) color on a cloudy day and a red or orange or silver color on a sunny day... however that is not a hard and fast rule... The other day my favorite grand daughter told her Dad, that no self respecting Coho would hit a Pink spinner... But enough of them did for him to limit out on the Deshka....!!!! Best advice I could offer is to be flexible...

Thank you, John, very much!
    I think you are right.
    I have no a big experience for salmon fishing but last time I've fished on Sacramento River only 4 salmons were cought -3 by silver and 1 by three-colour Mepps (red-yellow-green). It was sunny day.
    Last edited by ING; 08-22-2011 at 16:08. Reason: misspelling

Our best results have been on chartruse fox spinners with silver blades. Every so ofter with the pink.

Quote Originally Posted by ING View Post
    King or coho fishing.

The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

I think it's more about presentation, low and slow. That and a #6 Blue Vibrax for all species, even grayling hit them.

Fish On!
    You know your not catching any fish when you start talking about the weather...

http://www.alaskansalmonslayers.com/

General rule which I have followed with much success is bright day- dark color, dark day- bright color. Of course there are always exceptions.

You know, for a long time I was told to use bright colors on bright days and dark colors on dark days. Then I read that the opposite is true. Followed that and seemed to do much better.