Thread: HeckOfAHunt

Default HeckOfAHunt

It all started on the 9th of Aug, 2 days after my son's 15th birthday. I'm a teacher and it was my last week of summer before school started, so I wanted to make it a good one. We were heading out on his first sheep hunt. As we neared the sheep mountains, the sideways rain and the forecast prompted me to ask him if he'd rather go bear hunting instead. After all, he had never shot a bear before. He thought that that was a pretty good idea. I didn't need to explain to him that hiking several miles in rain, to set up a tent in the rain, to sit in it for a few days, was not fun. Call me a sissy, I'm ok with that. So we continued south to the secret bear hunting grounds. After arriving, we quickly set up our tent...in the rain, and then sat in the truck for a while hoping for the rain to lighten up. Me made a quick supper and headed out for an evening hunt. After a while we spotted a black bear and made a move on it. We were not able to find it and it was nearly dark, so we headed back to camp. After waking the next morning and eating a quick meal we headed out again with high hopes. It didn't take us long to spot a bear and the stalk was on. On our way to that bear, we ran into another. It winded us and trotted off. It was only about 50 yards away and not moving too quickly, but I counciled my son not to shoot unless it stopped and was standing broadside. We weren't concerned since we could still see bear #1. We closed that gap to 150, the closest we could get. We were on one edge of a large ravine and it was on the other, eating berries. We had to wait several minutes for it to get into a good position to shoot. I had the video camera ready and gave him the ok. BOOM! no reaction from the bear except it looking for the origination of the sound. My son had just pulled off his famous "warnig shot." I told him to crank another one in and shoot. He did and it seemed to be a good hit. The bear went down and then flipped around and th